A brook well present on the SNJM site

SNJM Memory Lane Discover the history of Saint-Antoine Creek in 5 questions

The plan, probably drawn by an SNJM nun in 1943, illustrates the presence of Saint-Antoine Creek on the site of the Sisters of the Holy Names of Jesus and Mary (SNJM).

It crisscrosses the grounds and runs alongside the nuns’ cemetery. When the creek overflowed its banks, it completely flooded the cemetery, where the first nuns and the foundress, Mother Marie-Rose, were buried. This explains in part why the remains of the congregation’s foundress were exhumed and the cemetery was subsequently redeveloped.

Hand-drawn plan – map of the site