Marie-Rose Centre (CMR) is a multi-faceted historical site. This museum space is distinguished by the diversity of its permanent offerings, to which are added specific thematic tours a temporary exhibition.
Its mission is to help visitors discover the history of the Sisters of the Holy Names of Jesus and Mary (SNJM) and that of its foundress Blessed Marie-Rose Durocher. It recalls the social context of the era in the field of education and promotes knowledge of a unique heritage site in Longueuil.
This museum, which is dedicated to the foundress and pioneers of this first congregation of teaching women religious, founded by a Canadian woman in 1843, will immerse you in the fascinating story of this exceptional woman and her companions who have contributed to the education of thousands of young girls and boys on three continents.
A visit to Marie-Rose Centre also opens the door to discovering many historical and heritage treasures.
In addition to the museum, visitors have access to:
- The Old Convent (whose central part dates from around 1740).
- The Convent Chapel, blessed in 1847
- The historical rooms where Blessed Marie-Rose lived (her bedroom and office the Chapter Room)
- The Foundation House (former école de la Fabrique), built in 1811
- The exhibition hall, where every year there is an archives exhibition focusing on a different theme
- An outdoor thematic tour of the heritage buildings, depending on the season
As a member of the Saint Lawrence River Shrines organization, Marie-Rose Centre is a great place to visit Québec’s religious heritage. It helps to both transmit history and preserve it for future generations.
A non-profit charitable organization, the Marie-Rose Centre can issue receipts for charitable donations offered by benefactors.