Marie Rose Center reopens to the public

Return to news

Marie-Rose Center is re-opening its doors to the public this September after being closed for 18 months due to the pandemic. However, it will be necessary to make an appointment by phone and to present proof of vaccination in order to respect certain sanitary instructions specific to the place.

Located mainly in the Congregation House (former Convent of Longueuil), Marie-Rose Center offers a unique museum space that includes the original chapel (1846), the historical rooms where the foundress, Blessed Marie-Rose Durocher, lived, the museum, an archive exhibition room and the Foundation House.

These numerous attributes allow visitors to dive back into parts of the history of Longueuil and Quebec by looking at the customs of the time, the social issues around education, without forgetting to meet visionary women who did not lack courage. At the same time, visitors discover the particularities and beauty of 18th and 19th century heritage buildings.

The photos were taken before the pandemic.

The museum space of Marie-Rose Centre is so rich in content that some people prefer to opt for a targeted visit and come back later to discover another aspect. It is also possible to have a global visit that presents all the aspects in summary summarily. In any case, you should allow at least one hour to enjoy the guided tour.

An outdoor tour of the built heritage is also offered on request to discover this historic site of Old Longueuil. However, weather conditions must be taken into account.

This new formula of opening to the public by appointment only will be in place, until further notice. Those interested in visiting the museum space at Marie-Rose Centre should call 450 651-8104, ext. 0, to make an appointment and for information. MRC is located at 80 Saint-Charles Street East, in Longueuil.