Discover our history in video or in text :
The Congregation of the Sisters of the Holy Names of Jesus and Mary owes its existence to Eulalie Durocher (Mother Marie-Rose), a woman of faith and courage, who was attentive to the needs of her era.
- On October 28, 1843, Eulalie Durocher and her two companions Mélodie Dufresne, (Marie-Agnès) and Henriette Céré (Marie-Madeleine) began the new foundation in the school of the Fabrique in Longueuil.
- Very early on, two young women joined the fledgling community. They were Hedwidge Davignon (Veronica of the Crucifix) and Salomé Martin (Thérèse-de-Jésus). These five pioneers cast the fire of love on the earth.
- On August 9, 1844, Sisters and students moved to their new home, the convent in Longueuil, which was now ready to welcome them. On December 8, in the Church in Longueuil, the three foundresses committed themselves, through vows, to serve God and his people. Bishop Ignace Bourget then read the decree which officially established the Congregation.
- Upon the death of Mother Marie-Rose in 1849, the Congregation consisted of 4 houses, 30 Sisters, 7 postulants and 7 novices.
- Over the years, it has experienced significant growth. In 1960, there were 4000 Sisters spread over three continents. 277 houses were providing education to 100 000 students.
- In 2014, our mission of education continues in a variety of ways in Canada, the United States, Africa and South America. There are 900 Sisters, 630 associates and 12 consecrated lay persons.